World Trade Organization (WTO)

World Trade Organisation (WTO) was established on 1 January 1995 as a successor of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT). The WTO is the only international body dealing with the rules of trade between nations at a global or near-global level. The last GATT round was the Uruguay Round, which lasted from 1986 to 1994 and led to the creation of the WTO. The agreement on the establishment of the WTO was approved in Marrakesh on 15 April 1994. The principles and agreements concluded in the GATT were adopted by the WTO, which has been developing them. Whereas the GATT mainly dealt with trade in goods, the WTO and its agreements now cover trade in services and in traded inventions, creations and designs (intellectual property).

The Decision on Trade and Environment was adopted during the negotiations in Marrakesh in 1994; it led to the establishment of the Committee on Trade and Environment (CTE). The CTE deals with links between trade and environmental measures. The aim of the CTE is to enforce the sustainable development perspectives in assessment of upcoming measures.

The Czech Republic, which has been member of WTO since its establishment in 1995, participates in negotiations in the CTE. The numbers of WTO members are increasing; there were 153 members as of 23 July 2008.

Contact point for the CTE WTO in the Czech Republic:
Ministry of the Environment
Department of Economic Instruments
Vršovická 65
100 00 Prague 10
Czech Republic

Czech contact point for the WTO abroad:
Permanent Mission of the Czech Republic in Geneva