V4 Presidency

Members of the Visegrad group (V4) are: Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia. Also Bulgaria and Romania cooperate with the Visegrad countries in the field of environmental protection for many years. From mid-2017 Croatia and Slovenia were involved to the cooperation by Hungarian Presidency. Cooperation is based on the principle of periodical meetings and mutual contacts of the member states' representatives on all levels (heads of states, prime ministers, ministers, experts, etc.) Meeting of ministers of the environment is held once or twice a year since 1993. V4 countries coordinate their positions to relevant legislative and strategic proposals of EU documents.

The only organisation within the V4 platform is the International Visegrad Fund. The Fund was established in 1999 with the aim of supporting cooperation in culture, scientific exchange, research and education, exchange of students and development of cross-border cooperation and promotion of tourism.

The Presidency of the Visegrad countries rotates after one year.

Presidency of the V4 for the period 2015 – 2018:

2016/2017 – Poland (July 2016 – June 2017)
2017/2018 – Hungary (July 2017 – June 2018)
2018/2019 – Slovakia (July 2018 – June 2019)
2019/2020 – Czech Republic (July 2019 – June 2020)