Bilateral co-operation

The Ministry of the Environment maintains bilateral co-operation with countries within the EU as well as with numerous countries outside the EU. Activities are aimed at countries with a potential to benefit from Czech expertise or Czech environmental technologies and services. Co-operation in the region outside the EU is focused on countries in which the Czech Republic has respected position and Czech support can bring particular outcomes. The Czech Republic has signed a number of bilateral agreements with certain countries to foster co-operation and create an official framework for present or future activities.

Active co-operation to achieve protection of the environment is conducted in the areas such as: climate change, protection of biodiversity, sustainable use of natural resources, clean environmental technologies etc.

V4 – co-operation in the field of environmental protection

Members of the Visegrad group (V4) are: Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia.
Co-operation is based on the principle of periodical meetings of the member states' representatives on all levels (heads of states, prime ministers, ministers, experts, etc.) Meeting of the ministers of environment is held once a year since 1993.

Czech Republic holds the V4 Presidency from July 2019 to June 2020.

Overview of bilateral co-operation:

EU countries

Czech Republic has been developing its closest bilateral ties with neighbouring countries, particularly in the framework of the Czech-German Joint Commission on the Environment, the Czech-Polish Intergovernmental Commissions for Cross-border Cooperation, the Visegrad Group, working groups on air protection, water protection, nature protection and waste management.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

Non-EU countries

There is an ongoing co-operation between the Czech Republic (as a beneficiary state) and other European countries aimed at reduction of economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area and for strengthening of bilateral relations with the donor states. Besides bilateral co-operation with countries outside the EU, experts from the Ministry of the Environment and its agencies are involved in preparation and implementation of the Czech Development Cooperation projects as well as in the EU projects financed from the Twinning and TAIEX tools.

  • Norway
  • Switzerland

Countries on the road to EU membership

The Ministry of the Environment has been co-operating with the candidate and potential candidate countries already for a long time. The Ministry of the Environment is sharing the experiences from the pre-accession process and capacity building with relevant institutions. The co-operation usually takes form of exchange of experience, expert meetings or organization of seminars.

  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia
  • Turkey

Eastern Partnership countries

Eastern Partnership is a joint initiative between the EU, EU countries and the Eastern European partner countries - Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. It is a dimension of the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP). The Ministry co-operates with the countries of the Eastern Partnership mainly on bilateral level.

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Georgia
  • Moldova
  • Ukraine


  • China
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Mongolia
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Vietnam

Africa and Near East

  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Israel
  • Senegal


  • Brazil
  • Peru